Livestream: Kim Johnson: This Is My America

Annie Bloom's welcomes debut author and University of Oregon administrator Kim Johnson, who explores timely topics for her new Young Adult book, This Is My America. This event is moderated by Mariann Hyland.

Livestream registration link: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/kim-johnson-this-is-my

Signed copies are available for pickup, local delivery, or shipping.

The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time--her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy's older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a "thug" on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town's racist history that still haunt the present? Fans of Nic Stone, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Jason Reynolds won't want to miss this provocative and gripping debut.

About Kim

University of Oregon Alumna Kim Johnson (BS '01) has held leadership positions in social justice organizations as a teen. She’s now a UO administrator who maintains civic engagement throughout the community while also mentoring Black student activists and leaders. She holds degrees from the UO and the University of Maryland, College Park. Kim lives her best life in Oregon with her husband and two kids. This Is My America is her debut novel. Find her at www.kcjohnsonwrites.com and follow her on Twitter and Instagram: @kcjohnsonwrites.

About Mariann

University of Oregon Alumna Mariann Hyland (BS '86, JD '91) has more than 20 years of experience in institution-wide leadership at nonprofit and educational institutions. She is the Vice President of People & Culture at Oregon Community Foundation, where she oversees human resources, organizational culture, and provides organization-wide leadership for equity, diversity and inclusion. Mariann is driven by a passion for justice. She co-founded "Driving While Black, The App," a mobile phone app dedicated helping Black people survive traffic stops, protect themselves from unreasonable searches and seizures, and pursue justice to address traffic stop abuses. Also, she has served on the Coffee Creek Correctional Facility Prison Advisory Committee since 2002.

Event date: 
Wednesday, August 19, 2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
This Is My America Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593118764
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 28th, 2020