Live Stream Reading: Liz Prato: Volcanoes, Palm Trees & Privilege

Annie Bloom's welcomes back local author Liz Prato to celebrate the 1-year anniversary of Volcanoes, Palm Trees & Privilege, a finalist for the Oregon Book Award. According to Prato, this live-streaming AV presentation will be "short, informative, and fun!"

Streaming link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/761551218

Meeting ID: 761 551 218

Volcanoes, Palm Trees & Privilege: Essays on Hawai'i  was named one of the New York Times Best Summer Books of 2019. Liz Prato combines lyricism, research and humor to explore her role as a white tourist in a seemingly paradisiacal land that has been largely formed and destroyed by white outsiders. Hawaiian history, pop culture, and contemporary affairs are masterfully woven with her personal narrative of loss and survival in linked essays, offering unique insight into how the touristic ideal of Hawai'i came to be, and what Hawai'i is at its core.

". . . a rebuke to cultural appropriation, combined with tribute to a place she loves too much to make her own." -- New York Times

“Liz Prato’s profound meditations on place dislocate and then relocate understandings of Hawaiʻi from the point of view of the non-native visitor. This book is a love letter to the land and people of Hawaiʻi. Breathtaking." —Lidia Yuknavitch, author of The Chronology of Water and Verge.

"For fans of Sarah Vowell and Kaui Hart Hemmings [author of The Descendants], Liz Prato's essay collection is a must-read." --Kristiana Kahahauwila, This is Paradise

"Searching, wise, intimate and illuminating, Liz Prato’s Volcanoes, Palm Trees, and Privilege is a complicated love letter to a place and a powerful reckoning of a life. I was moved and astonished by this beautiful book." – Cheryl Strayed, author of Wild

Event date: 
Thursday, April 16, 2020 - 7:00pm to 7:45pm
Staff Pick Badge
Volcanoes, Palm Trees & Privilege: Essays on Hawai'i Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781732610309
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (updated daily)
Published: Overcup Press - April 16th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
Baby's on Fire: Stories Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781941209158
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (updated daily)
(This book cannot be returned.)
Published: Press 53 - May 3rd, 2015