How High We Go in the Dark (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
How High We Go in the Dark By Sequoia Nagamatsu, Jason Culp (Read by), Kotaro Watanabe (Read by) Cover Image
By Sequoia Nagamatsu, Jason Culp (Read by), Kotaro Watanabe (Read by)
$46.99
Email or call to check availability.

Staff Reviews


A strange and particularly deadly virus that morphs the human body is uncovered in a near future Siberia. It spreads, and the world has to find ways to reinvent ways of living, dying, grieving, and surviving. Each chapter has a new perspective character who is in some way connected to another character or chapter in the book. A beautiful constellation of grief. It feels like an anthology of lives impacted by this incredible occurence. The writing is beautiful, and each chapter is just as moving as the last, full of complex lives and questions and wonderings.

Nagamatsu is also interested in the technologies and businesses that spring up in the future to combat the virus and capitalize on its existence and become important to people (such as robo-dogs with recorded voices of loved ones who have died). Ultimately, he is concerned with nontraditional grief and what we do when something gets in the way of grief or you're not able to say goodbye. This book is grounded in grief and trends toward hope and possibility.

— Georg

February 2022 Indie Next List


“This collection of connected stories describes the world after a devastating plague. The book is beautiful — striking, unsettling, and darkly gorgeous. It defies categorization and creates its own genre. A shimmering gem of a book.”
— Debra Ginsberg, DIESEL, A Bookstore, Santa Monica, CA

Description


Haunting and luminous, How High We Go in the Dark orchestrates its multitude of memorable voices into beautiful and lucid science fiction. An astonishing debut. -- Alan Moore, creator of Watchmen and V for Vendetta

Epic . . . Sequoia Nagamatsu is a writer whose imagination is matched only by his compassion, the kind we need to light our way through the dark. -- Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists

For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague--a daring and deeply heartfelt work of mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice.

In 2030, a grieving archeologist arrives in the Arctic Circle to continue the work of his recently deceased daughter at the Batagaika Crater, where researchers are studying long-buried secrets now revealed in melting permafrost, including the perfectly preserved remains of a girl who appears to have died of an ancient virus.

Once unleashed, the Arctic plague will reshape life on Earth for generations to come, quickly traversing the globe, forcing humanity to devise a myriad of moving and inventive ways to embrace possibility in the face of tragedy. In a theme park designed for terminally ill children, a cynical employee falls in love with a mother desperate to hold on to her infected son. A heartbroken scientist searching for a cure finds a second chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects--a pig--develops the capacity for human speech. A widowed painter and her teenaged granddaughter embark on a cosmic quest to locate a new home planet.

From funerary skyscrapers to hotels for the dead to interstellar starships, Sequoia Nagamatsu takes readers on a wildly original and compassionate journey, spanning continents, centuries, and even celestial bodies to tell a story about the resilience of the human spirit, our infinite capacity to dream, and the connective threads that tie us all together in the universe.

Wondrous, and not just in the feats of imagination, which are so numerous it makes me dizzy to recall them, but also in the humanity and tenderness with which Sequoia Nagamatsu helps us navigate this landscape. . . . This is a truly amazing book, one to keep close as we imagine the uncertain future. -- Kevin Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of Nothing to See Here

Product Details
ISBN: 9798200851768
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: January 18th, 2022
Language: English