All the Horses of Iceland (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
All the Horses of Iceland By Sarah Tolmie Cover Image
$15.99
On Our Shelves Now (updated daily)
5 on hand, as of Dec 5 8:33pm
(STF)

Description


A New York Times Best Fantasy of 2022!

All the Horses of Iceland is a slim and beautiful chronicle in the tradition of Naomi Mitchison and Ursula K. Le Guin. …The result is a sorcerous journey through hospitality and enchantment.” —The New York Times

A hypnotic historical fantasy with gorgeous and unusual literary prose, from the captivating author of The Fourth Island.


Everyone knows of the horses of Iceland, wild, and small, and free, but few have heard their story. Sarah Tolmie’s All the Horses of Iceland weaves their mystical origin into a saga for the modern age. Filled with the magic and darkened whispers of a people on the cusp of major cultural change, All the Horses of Iceland tells the tale of a Norse trader, his travels through Central Asia, and the ghostly magic that followed him home to the land of fire, stone, and ice. His search for riches will take him from Helmgard, through Khazaria, to the steppes of Mongolia, where he will barter for horses and return with much, much more.

All the Horses of Iceland is a delve into the secret, imagined history of Iceland's unusual horses, brought to life by an expert storyteller.

About the Author


Sarah Tolmie is the author of the Tordotom novella The Fourth Island (2020), the poetry collections Check (McGill-Queen's University Press, 2020) and The Art of Dying (McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2018), the 120-sonnet sequence Trio (McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2015), and the chapbook Sonnet in a Blue Dress and Other Poems (Baseline Press, 2014). With Aqueduct Press, she has published the novels The Little Animals (2019) and The Stone Boatmen (2014), as well as the short fiction collections Two Travelers (2016) and NoFood (2014). She is a medievalist trained at the University of Toronto and Cambridge and is a Professor of English at the University of Waterloo.

Praise For…


A New York Times Best Fantasy of 2022!

All the Horses of Iceland is a slim and beautiful chronicle in the tradition of Naomi Mitchison and Ursula K. Le Guin. …The result is a sorcerous journey through hospitality and enchantment.” —The New York Times

“Sarah Tolmie has a light touch, a powerful voice, and a vivid sense of place and period.” —Elizabeth Bear

“Tolmie brings a scholarly precision to her fantasy that makes magic mundane and the mundane utterly sublime . . . deeply refreshing, a kind of grace.” —The New York Times

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250807939
ISBN-10: 125080793X
Publisher: Tordotcom
Publication Date: March 1st, 2022
Pages: 112
Language: English