Deadlock: A Thriller (A Dez Limerick Novel #2) (Mass Market)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Deadlock: A Thriller (A Dez Limerick Novel #2) By James Byrne Cover Image
$9.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Dez Limerick Novel series.

Description


In this sequel to the highly praised The Gatekeeper, Dez Limerick, one of the best new thriller heroes returns.

Desmond Aloysius Limerick ("Dez" to his friends and close personal enemies) is a man with a shadowy past, certain useful hard-won skills, and, if one digs deep enough, a reputation as a good man to have at your back. Now retired from his previous life, Dez is just a bloke with a winning smile, a bass guitar, and bullet wounds that paint a road map of past lives.

Jaleh Swann, a business journalist hot on the trail of an auditor who was mugged and killed, lands in the hospital just one day after her Portland apartment is ransacked. When Jaleh’s sister, Raziah, reaches out to an old friend for help, Dez has no choice but to answer. The Swann sisters have been pulled into a dizzying web of cover-ups and danger. At the center lies an insidious Oregon-based tech corporation, Clockjack, which has enough money and hired guns to silence just about anyone—including this rag-tag trio. Luckily, Dez’s speciality is not just to open doors, but keep them open—and protect those working to expose Clockjack’s secrets.

More stands in the way of the truth than just one corporation. When hired thugs come to the finish the job and attack the Swann sisters at the hospital, Dez does what he does best. Now, the two captured men (and the corpse Dez left behind) attract the attention of not just Clockjack, but of the Portland police, the D.E.A, and the U.S. Marshalls. Dez and the Swann sisters are on the run from powers beyond their control and means. Outnumbered, under resourced and outgunned, Dez must use all his skills to keep his friends safe and stand up to corporate conniving. After all, the one thing Clockjack didn’t count on? A good man with a simple job to do.

About the Author


JAMES BYRNE is the pseudonym for an author who has worked for more than twenty years as a journalist and in politics. A native of the Pacific Northwest, he lives in Portland, Oregon.

Praise For…


"Exhilarating." —Publisher's Weekly

"Adrenaline-charged! An action-packed, twist-a-minute thrill ride... Dez is the hero we never knew we needed." —Lisa Gardner

"A must-read gripping adventure that utilizes its distinctive wise-cracking hero to the fullest." —Best Thriller Books

"As good as The Gatekeeper was, this one’s even better. Byrne is a writer who knows exactly what he’s doing on every page and with each thrill." —Booklist

"My fav new series! If Popeye and Jason Bourne ever had a secret love child it would be Dez Limierick. He is brilliant, funny and hella deadly. Fans of Jack Reacher, Gray Man and Orphan X definitely need to check this out." —Lisa Gardner

"An action-packed chess match between grandmasters of death, Deadlock is one of the most entertaining novels you will read this year. It’s intense, cerebral, and quite hilarious." —Best Thriller Books

"Dez is the Renaissance man of spies and is always fun to hang with while he's rendering justice on those who have forgotten the meaning of the word." —Dana Stabenow

"A uniquely imagined, larger than life action hero who is sure to delight fans of the likes of Jack Reacher, Jason Bourne and Orphan X." —Mystery & Suspense Magazine

"Byrne has created an engaging hero that is a true delight, and with the complex thriller and impossible odds, makes Deadlock essential reading for any thriller fan." —Criminal Element

"
This is action-thriller writing par excellence. Deadlock is a seminal, rip-roaring tale that is both wondrously paced and beautifully told." —BookTrib.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250341815
ISBN-10: 1250341817
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: May 21st, 2024
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: A Dez Limerick Novel