Roller Girl (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Roller Girl By Victoria Jamieson Cover Image
$13.99
On Our Shelves Now (updated daily)
1 on hand, as of Jun 23 5:35pm
(YGN)

Staff Reviews


Comics fans and middle grade novel fans alike will find something to love in this fresh and engaging graphic novel by Oregon author and illustrator Victoria Jamieson. It's got tons of roller derby action, a few tips on dying your hair an outrageous (but roller derby appropriate) shade, and a sweet but not too sweet story of friendship in that tricky summer before middle school. Friendship is not easy to navigate for any pre-teen and this book is refreshingly honest as the spunky but somewhat clueless Astrid learns to channel her inner roller derby queen to face the hard truth about friendship. Sometimes you need to put on your war face and sometimes you need to say you are sorry and sometimes you need to ask your roller derby hero for advice via secret letters hidden in her locker.

— Rosanne

Description


The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power!

About the Author


Victoria Jamieson received her BFA in Illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design. She worked as a children’s book designer before moving to Portland and becoming a freelance illustrator. She has also worked as a portrait artist aboard a cruise ship, and has lived in Australia, Italy, and Canada. She maintains a not-so-secret identity as Winnie the Pow, skater with the Rose City Rollers roller derby league.

Praise For…


A Newbery Honor book
2016-2017 Texas Bluebonnet Award winner
New York Times Bestseller
A Spring 2015 Indie Next Pick
New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2015
A New York Public Library Best Book for Reading and Sharing of 2015
Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2015
School Library Journal Best Book of 2015
Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2015
A Top 10 Latin@ Book of 2015
Parents Magazine Best Children's Book of 2015
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2015
A Texas Bluebonnet Award 2016-2017 nominee
A 2016 YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers selection
A 2016 YALSA Popular Paperback selection
An ALA Notable Children's Book of 2016
A 2015 Nerdy Book Club Award Winner for Best Graphic Novel




Roller Girl's message of self-discovery, friendship, and perseverance will roll its way right into your heart.” —Raina Telgemeier, New York Times bestselling author of Sisters

“This spiky, winning graphic novel captures the bittersweetness of finding a new passion and saying goodbye to your former, more uncertain self.” —New York Times Book Review

* "Jamieson captures this snapshot of preteen angst with a keenly decisive eye, brilliantly juxtaposing the nuances of roller derby with the twists and turns of adolescent girls' friendships...Full of charm and moxie—don't let this one roll past." —Kiruks, starred review

* “The story will engage readers… Offer this comic to fans of Telgemeier’s Smile and Laura Lee Gulledge’s Page by Paige.”—School Library Journal, starred review

* "Readers will stand up and cheer."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Jamieson’s dialogue captures coming-of-age…so authentically"—Horn Book, starred review

* "[A] sharp and engaging graphic novel”—BCCB, starred review


"Visually, Roller Girl is very appealing — think Lynn Johnston with a modern edge — but it's the storytelling that really sets this graphic novel apart…A great choice for tween girls, whether they're remaking themselves, renegotiating friendships or just weathering the stormy seas of early adolescence." —Chicago Tribune
Product Details
ISBN: 9780803740167
ISBN-10: 0803740166
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: March 10th, 2015
Pages: 256
Language: English