Not Safe After Dark: And Other Stories (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Not Safe After Dark: And Other Stories Cover Image
Special Order - Usually 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

In the midst of uncertain and unsettling times, the joys of finely crafted short stories wherein mayhem, murder, and the miscarriage of justice are craftily resolved, are a welcome respite. Peter Robinson is a fine British crime writer whose tales are atmospheric and psychologically complex gems. The title story, Not Safe After Dark is a brief but gripping tale. Several of the stories feature DCI Alan Banks, a character somewhat reminiscent of Michael Connelly’s Hieronymus Bosch, both in musical taste (from Miles Davis to Bach), a slightly world weary outlook and rather fraught love life. The volume ends with a moving novella in which Banks goes to his childhood home for his parents’ 50th anniversary. All in all this collection of twenty stories has given me many hours of lovely escape.

— Bobby


From the New York Times bestselling author of Sleeping in the Ground comes this brilliantly nuanced short story collection of twenty stories—most never before published in the US, and one of them an Edgar winner—which also features three Inspector Banks tales.

Peter Robinson pens thrilling tales rich with keen observations, pitch perfect dialogue, and shocking plot twists that have fascinated readers all over the world and made him one of the greatest suspense novelists alive. His acclaimed novels featuring Detective Inspector Alan Banks rank among the most celebrated police procedural series in modern fiction. In Not Safe After Dark and Other Stories, Robinson showcases once again his extraordinary talents with a collection of twenty stories, including three featuring Inspector Banks.

In “Going Back, Inspector Banks’ trip to celebrate his parents’ Golden Anniversary reveals how evil can wear many disguises. In the Edgar Award-winning “Missing in Action”, the disappearance of a young boy in the early days of WWII sparks a mob mentality with chilling results. “Innocence” captures the desperate plight of a man trapped by a set of coincidences that derail his life and lead him down a path he was destined to travel. The title story, Not Safe After Dark, is an exhilarating tale with a sudden conclusion that will leave readers’ hearts pounding.

Not Safe After Dark and Other Stories deftly explores the darkest edges of humanity in which everyday people must commit desperate acts as they face fear, temptation, and impulses too irresistible to control.

“American readers who know Robinson only through his nine Inspector Banks novels are in for a treat. . . . The finish throughout is faultless.”—Kirkus Reviews

Publisher's note: Peter Robinson is both a widely acclaimed and internationally bestselling novelist and an Edgar-winning author of short stories. This special edition of Not Safe After Dark collects 20 of his finest short stories -- previously published in different editions under the same title, but never before available in its entirety in the US. The new Not Safe After Dark is a publication to be celebrated by Robinson fans and newcomers alike.

About the Author

One of the world’s most popular and acclaimed writers, Peter Robinson is the best-selling, award-winning author of the DCI Banks series; he has also written two short-story collections and three stand-alone novels, which combined have sold more than ten million copies around the world. Among his many honors and prizes are the Edgar Award, the CWA (UK) Dagger in the Library Award, and the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy Martin Beck Award.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062673893
ISBN-10: 0062673890
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: December 5th, 2017
Pages: 496
Language: English