Coming Soon...

These books are available for pre-order. See more...

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Vanishing Half: A Novel Cover Image
Pre-Order Now Badge
American Dirt (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel Cover Image
Pre-Order Now Badge
Mercy Street: A Novel Cover Image
Pre-Order Now Badge
Free Love: A Novel Cover Image
Pre-Order Now Badge
Good-bye Stacey, Good-bye: A Graphic Novel (The Baby-sitters Club #11) (Adapted edition) (The Baby-Sitters Club Graphix) Cover Image
Pre-Order Now Badge
The Princess in Black and the Mermaid Princess Cover Image
Pre-Order Now Badge
Solimar: The Sword of the Monarchs Cover Image
Pre-Order Now Badge
Maizy Chen's Last Chance Cover Image

Recent Staff Picks

Here are just a few titles that are currently on our "Staff Favorites" table. See more...

Staff Pick Badge
The Dutch House: A Novel Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Guest List: A Novel Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Liar's Dictionary: A Novel Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Shakespeare for Squirrels: A Novel Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Silent Patient Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Anthropocene Reviewed (Signed Edition): Essays on a Human-Centered Planet Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Hamnet Cover Image

Annie Bloom's Bestsellers

For more of our bestsellers, click here.

When We Cease to Understand the World Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Bookish Life of Nina Hill Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Cold Millions: A Novel Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Silent Patient Cover Image
Dune Cover Image
Grains for Every Season: Rethinking Our Way with Grains Cover Image
The Lincoln Highway: A Novel Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
All the Devils Are Here: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel #16) Cover Image

Bargain Books

Quantities are limited. Order while supplies last! Browse all sale books...

Paperback
Sale Price: $8.98
Hardcover
Sale Price: $29.98
Paperback
Sale Price: $8.98
Hardcover
Sale Price: $7.98
Paperback
Sale Price: $7.98
Paperback
Sale Price: $8.98
Hardcover
Sale Price: $7.98
Other
Sale Price: $6.98

Livestream Storytime Reading: Audrey Sauble: Can a Rock Grow?

Event date: 
Thursday, February 3, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am

Annie Bloom's welcomes local author Audrey Sauble for a livestream storytime reading from her new book, Can a Rock Grow?.

Please register in advance for this Zoom reading: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZ0lc-6srz8uGNL2KHVFb2lcPSIy8XNOV8WB

About Can a Rock Grow?:

Discover flat rocks, round rocks, sharp rocks, and even hexagon-shaped rocks in Can a Rock Grow?—and explore the shapes rocks make as they grow and break with this entertaining and educational picture book. This book is a simple, easy-to-read introduction to different types of rocks, as well as the rock cycle. The back matter includes a few key geology words, as well as a scavenger hunt. This is the third book in the Early Science Series, following Can a Tree Be Blue? and Can a Spider Be Fluffy?.

Audrey Sauble started writing children's books to answer her oldest child's questions about eggs. Now she loves exploring science and nature through stories. She's the author of several picture books and two activity books.

Can a Rock Grow? Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781946748157
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (updated daily)
Published: Larch Books - June 30th, 2021

Livestream Reading: Waka T. Brown with Van Hoang

Event date: 
Tuesday, February 8, 2022 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

Annie Bloom's welcomes back Portland author Waka Brown for the livestream launch of her new novel, Dream, Annie, Dream. Waka will be in conversation with fellow Middle Grade author Van Hoang, whose new novel is Girl Giant and the Jade War.

DATE CHANGE! Please note that this event is now scheduled for Tuesday, February 8, 7pm, in order to coincide with the new publication date for Dream, Annie, Dream.

Please register in advance for this Zoom event: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZArdeqhqD4oH9V__TSbx9dWVKBKqVqNUafB

About Dream, Annie, Dream:

In this empowering deconstruction of the so-called American Dream, a twelve-year-old Japanese American girl grapples with, and ultimately rises above, the racism and trials of middle school she experiences while chasing her dreams. As the daughter of immigrants who came to America for a better life, Annie Inoue was raised to dream big. And at the start of seventh grade, she’s channeling that irrepressible hope into becoming the lead in her school play. So when Annie lands an impressive role in the production of The King and I, she’s thrilled . . . until she starts to hear grumbles from her mostly white classmates that she only got the part because it’s an Asian play with Asian characters. Is this all people see when they see her? Is this the only kind of success they’ll let her have—one that they can tear down or use race to belittle? Disheartened but determined, Annie channels her hurt into a new dream: showing everyone what she’s made of. Waka T. Brown, author of While I Was Away, delivers an uplifting coming-of-age story about a Japanese American girl’s fight to make space for herself in a world that claims to celebrate everyone’s differences but doesn’t always follow through.

Waka T. Brown was the first American born in her family. She is a Stanford graduate with a Master’s degree in secondary education. She’s currently an instructor at the Stanford Program on International and Cross-Cultural Education (SPICE), authoring curriculum on several international topics, and winning the Association for Asian Studies’ national Franklin Buchanan Prize. She’s also been awarded the US–Japan Foundation and EngageAsia’s national 2019 Elgin Heinz Outstanding Teacher award for her groundbreaking endeavors in teaching about US–Japan relations to high school students in Japan and promoting cultural exchange awareness. While I Was Away is her debut book. She lives with her family in Portland, Oregon.

About Girl Giant and the Jade War:

In this sequel to Girl Giant and the Monkey King, Thom and her friends set off on a far flung adventure to save the Heavens and the Jade Emperor from certain destruction. Thom Ngoh thought the Monkey King was her friend—he taught her to control her super strength and to stand up for herself. But really he was just using her. He tricked her into stealing from the Heavens and releasing him from his 500-year prison. Now the Monkey King is waging a war against the Heavens and Thom must do everything in her power to fix the mess she made. Determined to prevent a war, Thom and her dragon friend Kha set off on an adventure across the Heavens to search for allies. But with the stakes higher than ever, the price for help may be more than Thom is willing to pay. This richly woven middle-grade fantasy series is full of humor, magic, and heart, and will appeal to readers who love Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGupta.

Van Hoang earned her bachelor’s degree in English at the University of New Mexico and her master's in Library Information Science at San Jose State University. Girl Giant and the Monkey King was her debut novel. She was born in Vietnam, grew in up Orange County, California, and now resides in Los Angeles with her husband, kid, and two dogs.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Dream, Annie, Dream Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063017160
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 8th, 2022

While I Was Away Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780063017122
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (updated daily)
Published: Quill Tree Books - December 21st, 2021

Girl Giant and the Jade War Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250240446
Availability: Special Order - arrival estimates will be provided when your order is processed
Published: Roaring Brook Press - December 7th, 2021

Girl Giant and the Monkey King Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781250802798
Availability: Special Order - arrival estimates will be provided when your order is processed
Published: Square Fish - December 7th, 2021