The Wild Inside: A Novel of Suspense (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Logo
The Wild Inside: A Novel of Suspense Cover Image
By Christine Carbo, R. C. Bray (Read by)
Email or call for price.
Special Order

Staff Reviews


A grizzly bear, Glacier National Park and a special agent for the Dept. of the Interior - what else would one need for an exciting suspense story? Ted Systead is sent to investigate a crime that recalls his own horrific experience with a grizzly at age fourteen. Now, a man has been bound to a tree and has been savaged by a Park grizzly and none of the residents or Park staff are particularly helpful. The resentment between locals and outsiders (and he is considered very much an outsider) makes Ted's work nearly impossible. It is obvious that Carbo knows her setting very well and Montana and Glacier are wonderful backdrops for dire doings.

— Edie

Description


For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature.It was a clear, starry night in Glacier National Park. Fourteen-year-old Ted Systead and his father were camping peacefully beneath the rugged peaks and sweeping sky when the unimaginable happened: Ted's father was mauled by a grizzly bear and dragged to his death.Now, twenty years later, as special agent for the Department of the Interior, Ted is called back to investigate a crime that echoes the horror of that night. Only this time, the victim was tied to a tree before the animal's attack. Ted teams up with one of the park officers--a man named Monty, whose pleasant exterior masks an all-too-vivid knowledge of the area. Residents of the nearby community are less than forthcoming. Suspicious of outsiders and intimately connected to the wilderness that surrounds them, they confront their fellow man and nature with equal measures of reverence and brutality. As the days pass with no clear answers, not only is human life at stake, so too is that of a majestic creature who carries with it valuable evidence. Ted's search for truth takes him far into the wilderness, on the trail of a killer, and eventually to a shocking and unexpectedly personal conclusion.Rich in atmosphere and evocative, lush descriptions, The Wild Inside is a gripping debut novel about the wondrously perilous intersection between man and nature.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781504619967
ISBN-10: 150461996X
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Publication Date: June 16th, 2015
Language: English