Of Things Gone Astray (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Of Things Gone Astray Cover Image
$14.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This is a book with great characters and the story of the things (and people) that have gone astray in their lives. From their fingers to their sense of direction, their job, or something stranger. We might all know the lesson, know that losing and finding go hand in hand, but this doesn't make Janina Matthewson's novel any less of what it is: sweet, full of friendship, and ever so slightly magical. A lovely read!

— Ruby

February 2015 Indie Next List


“In London, a group of people have lost that which they hold most dear. A girl stands in the airport waiting for her lover while her feet turn to roots and her skin to bark. A recluse loses the front wall of her home, while a workaholic cannot find his office building. Piano keys, a sense of direction, and a boy's relationship with his father all have gone astray. Slowly, each victim adapts, unwittingly helping one another during the briefest encounters. Each loss is heartbreaking and each character's struggle to survive is inspiring. With stunning prose and insight, Matthewson uses magic to illuminate truth in this hauntingly beautiful debut novel.”
— Amelia Stymacks, Northshire Bookstore Saratoga, Saratoga Springs, NY

Description


Mrs Featherby had been having pleasant dreams until she woke to discover the front of her house had vanished overnight.

On a seemingly normal morning in London, a group of people all lose something dear to them, something dear but peculiar: the front of their house, their piano keys, their sense of direction, their place of work.

Meanwhile, Jake, a young boy whose father brings him to London following his mother's sudden death in an earthquake, finds himself strangely attracted to other people's lost things. But little does he realise that his most valuable possession is slipping away from him.

Of Things Gone Astray is a magical fable about modern life and values. Perfect for fans of Andrew Kaufman and Cecelia Ahern.

About the Author


Janina Matthewson is a writer and trained actress from Christchurch, New Zealand. She now lives in London. Of Things Gone Astray is her first full-length novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780008137557
ISBN-10: 0008137552
Publisher: Friday Project
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 288
Language: English