August 2017 Readings, Indie Next Picks, Memoir, and More!

7834 SW Capitol Hwy, Portland, Oregon 97219
In This Issue:
First Friday
Puzzling Brains
Upcoming Readings
Indie Bookseller Picks
New in Memoir
First Friday
August 4 is First Friday!
 
Come visit us during First Friday in Multnomah Village.
 
For your browsing enjoyment, we'll be serving wine. Plus, we'll be giving away great prizes for our monthly drawing. Drop by Annie Bloom's anytime after 6:00 on Friday night and register to win!  
 
One lucky adult will win:
The Underground Railroad 
by Colson Whitehead
(plus a nifty tote bag)
 
And our kids prize is a signed copy of:
by Sarvinder Naberhaus and Kadir Nelson
Puzzling Brains
Join Our Mailing List
August 2017 Readings, Indie Next Picks, Memoir, and More!
We've got some great readings coming up! Plus, check out our Puzzling Brains theme section, read about the latest memoirs, find out which new books indie booksellers across the country are loving, and drop by and see us on First Friday!
Readings
Upcoming Author Readings:
 
Timberline Review Summer/Fall 2017 Reading
TOMORROW! Tuesday, August 1, 7pm 
"The Vault" at O'Connor's Restaurant

This evening's readers will be: Rob Yardumian, John Daniel, John Holloran, Helen Sinoradzki, Betsy Porter, Geronimo Tagatac, Lois Rosen, and Stevan Allred. The Timberline Review is a Portland, Oregon, literary journal, a collage of voices speaking through the written word. Short fiction. Creative nonfiction. Essays. Poetry. Work that has the power to inspire a conversation with the times we live in. They're searching for bold new work from writers everywhere. Their mission is to find these voices, and to let them resound from the treetops. They proudly support literary freedom.

Lisa Alber, Susan Spann, and Kerry Schafer
Three Mysteries Book Launch Party
Thursday, August 24, 7pm
 
Join these acclaimed authors for a joint book launch party with wine and goodies. They'll be talking about their latest novels, and playing a game they call, "What would your detective do?" Come join the fun! Portland author Lisa Alber's third mystery novel is Path Into Darkness, a haunting tale of family secrets, madness, and healing in small-town Ireland. Susan Spann's Betrayal at Iga: A Hiro Hattori Novel is set in 1565 and features master ninja Hiro Hattori and Portuguese Jesuit Father Mateo. Kerry Schafer's World Tree Girl: A Shadow Valley Manor Novel stars Maureen Keslyn, seasoned paranormal investigator, former FBI agent, and new owner of the Shadow Valley Manor Retirement Home. She's discovered a sign that the Medusa, a dangerous paranormal hybrid, is on another killing spree.

Dolores Maggiore
Death and Love at the Old Summer Camp
Tuesday, August 29, 7pm

Local author Maggiore will read from her Young Adult novel. For Pina, summer 1959 started off a boring drag, just like every other summer with her folks at Owl Lake Lodge in Maine. The only good thing was seeing Katie and hanging out with her in the creepy cabins of the old boys' camp. But this summer, Katie made her nervous--and excited. As the summer heated up, so did her feelings for Katie. Things got even hotter when Katie's dad, Doc, and his very, very close, old camp friend, Joe, started hiding camp secrets about dead stuff--and other stuff. How hot could Pina stand it? If she didn't want to lose this one chance for a different kind of life, could she solve the murder--and clear Doc's name? And would Katie have her and would Pina have herself?

Gregg Coodley
The Magnificent Losers
Tuesday, September 12, 7pm

Some of history's greatest and grandest reformers, revolutionaries and fighters for freedom and justice lost. They did not achieve their goals in their lifetime. Yet perhaps they did not "lose" after all, for the ideas they fought for lived on. The Magnificent Losers tells the story of twenty of these extraordinary, sometimes forgotten figures over the last two thousand years. The narrative sweeps from the Roman Republic to the Russian steppes, from Boston to Peru and the plains of Nebraska to the Philippines. With swords and speeches, schools and strikes, and despite their apparent defeats, these Magnificent Losers helped create a better world.

Linda Atwell
Loving Lindsey
Tuesday, September 26, 7pm

The Oregon author will read from her memoir, Loving Lindsey. Atwell and her strong-willed daughter, Lindsey--a high-functioning young adult with intellectual disabilities--have always had a complicated relationship. But when Lindsey graduates from Silverton High School at nineteen and gets a job at Goodwill, she also moves into a newly remodeled cottage in her parents' backyard--and Linda believes that all their difficult times may finally be behind them. Life, however, proves not to be so simple. Lindsey soon quits Goodwill, runs away with a man more than twice her age, and slips away from her family. Linda, determined to save her daughter, refuses to give up.

Scott Stabile
Big Love: The Power of Living with a Wide-Open Heart
Monday, October 2, 7pm

Stabile's parents were murdered when he was fourteen. Nine years later, his brother died of a heroin overdose. Soon after that, Stabile joined a cult that would dominate his life. Through all these challenges, Stabile grew stronger and more committed to living his life from love. He forgave the man who murdered his parents, found compassion for his late drug-addicted brother, and finally walked away from the cult leader who had controlled his life for thirteen years. He writes about these experiences and many other personal milestones in ways that are universally applicable, uplifting, and even laugh-out-loud funny. Whether trying (as we all must) to silence shame, show up for friends, or overcome dreaded what-ifs, Stabile shares hard-won insights that return readers to love, both of themselves and others. 
August Indie Next List 
Every month, the coalition of independent bookstores puts together a list of titles recommended by booksellers across the country. Come in to browse the titles below, along with other great new bookseller picks for August. 

Mrs. Fletcher
by Tom Perrotta

"With son Brendan off to college at Berkshire State and ex-husband Ted remarried, Eve Fletcher is feeling a bit unfulfilled, despite her sometimes-trying job as the director of a senior center--until she finds a new and decidedly adult pastime. Neither mother nor son knows what to make of their new lives, and all they know about relationships, to say nothing of sex, seems to be up for discussion. What I love about Tom Perrotta's books is how uncomfortable they can make me feel, while at the same time making me laugh hysterically; Mrs. Fletcher shows Mr. Perrotta in top form on both counts." -Daniel Goldin, Boswell Book Company, Milwaukee, WI

The Readymade Thief
by Augustus Rose

"Much to the chagrin of my household, once I started this book I refused to put it down. I let my children fend for themselves while I walked along the Philly streets with Lee and Tomi, solving the age-old puzzle in the midst of which 17-year-old Lee has found herself. She has many of the same struggles and life choices to make as high school seniors across the country, but with a mysterious conspiracy thrown in. I love a book that is both well-written and completely absorbing. This is a great read for vacation, for a long plane ride, or for an escape while in the comfort of your own home." -Jessica Fowle, Bookbug, Kalamazoo, MI

Sons and Soldiers
by Bruce Henderson

"Fans of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat will be thrilled to know that that there is at least one more thrilling tale of WWII heroism able to leave readers nearly breathless. Sons and Soldiers is the remarkable story of German-born Jews who escaped the country during Hitler's rise to power. After training with the U.S. military, these same men returned to their homeland to fight the Nazis. Their knowledge of German culture, geography, and language made them uniquely skilled at gathering enemy intelligence, but also especially vulnerable should they be captured. Bruce Henderson has written a masterpiece, an inspiring and gripping tale of selfless men who risked everything to defeat unspeakable evil." -Christopher Rose, The Spirit of '76 Bookstore, Marblehead, MA

Plus, here are some previous Indie Next entries, now out in paperback:

The Book That Matters Most
by Ann Hood

Recommended in hardcover by Jenny Stroyeck, The Homer Bookstore, Homer, AK

Faithful
by Alice Hoffman

Recommended in hardcover by Tarah Jennings, Mitzi's Books, Rapid City, SD

The Heavenly Table
by Donald Ray Pollock

Recommended in hardcover by Alden Graves, Northshire Bookstore, Manchester Center, VT    
New in Memoir
Here are some of the latest Memoirs:

You Don't Have to Say You Love Me
by Sherman Alexie
Alexie's his mother, Lillian, plunged her family into chaos with a drinking habit, but shed her addiction when it was on the brink of costing her everything. She survived a violent past, but created an elaborate facade to hide the truth. She selflessly cared for strangers, but was often incapable of showering her children with the affection that they so desperately craved. When she passed away, the incongruities that defined his mother shook Sherman and his remembrance of her. Grappling with the haunting ghosts of the past in the wake of loss, he responded the only way he knew how: he wrote. The result is a stunning memoir filled with raw, angry, funny, profane, tender memories of a childhood few can imagine, much less survive.

Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body
by Roxane Gay
As a woman who describes her own body as "wildly undisciplined," Roxane understands the tension between desire and denial, between self-comfort and self-care. In Hunger, she casts an insightful and critical eye on her childhood, teens, and twenties--including the devastating act of violence that acted as a turning point in her young life--and brings readers into the present and the realities, pains, and joys of her daily life. With the bracing candor, vulnerability, and authority that have made her one of the most admired voices of her generation, Roxane explores what it means to be overweight in a time when the bigger you are, the less you are seen. Hunger is a deeply personal memoir from one of our finest writers, and tells a story that hasn't yet been told but needs to be.

Daring to Drive: A Saudi Woman's Awakening
by Manal Al-Sharif
Born the year fundamentalism took hold in Mecca, al-Sharif was a religious radical in her adolescence. But, by her twenties, she was a computer security engineer, one of few women working in a desert compound that resembled suburban America. That's when the Saudi kingdom's contradictions became too much to bear: she was labeled a slut for chatting with male colleagues, her teenage brother chaperoned her on a business trip, and while she kept a car in her garage, she was forbidden from driving down city streets behind the wheel. Daring to Drive is the fiercely intimate memoir of an accidental activist, a powerfully vivid story of a young Muslim woman who stood up to a kingdom of men--and won.